h1

A new day!

February 24, 2010

Yesterday was a great day – I felt great had tons of energy all day until night and I feel like I am now in a routine! Yay!

I have been starting the day with oatmeal which it seems like that is great fuel/brain food – yesterday for lunch I had a meeting at a restaurant so I got salad bar and brought my own dressing – I am a fan of the Follow Your Heart brand Creamy Garlic dressing – it was a delicious salad although it was only iceberg lettuce which I prefer a lettuce with more nutrients but at least I had options at all! (it was a pizza place) For dinner I made vegan alfredo – it is delicious and easy here is the recipe:

Vegan Alfredo

1 C Water
1C. raw rinsed cashews two ingredients.
2T. Vegan chicken seasoning
1T. nutritional yeast flakes
1/2t. salt or to taste
1/2t. onion powder
1/4t. garlic powder
2c. hot water
1/2t dried basil

COMBINE in blender all but last two ingredients. BLEND in blender  smooth as cream (2-3 min.) RINSE blender with the 2 cups hot water. ADD mixture to saucepan with basil. Bring to a simmer over MEDIUM heat, stirring until thickened.

My hubby liked it and even my 2 year old was telling me MMM good! One thing I added was I put in about a cup of steamed broccoli in the blender with the sauce because my 2 year old has a hard time with eating his vegetables – he didn’t even notice and it didn’t change the flavor in a negative way! I has been fun to serve my family dinner every night with new and exciting recipes! (this one I had tried before but my husband hadn’t)

So far I am loving my new vegan lifestyle! Bring on another day!

Peace and Love and Veggies

Kristin

Leave a Reply

