h1

I conquered the cupcake!!!!!!!

February 26, 2010

Last night went to a friend’s house for some girl time – there were cupcakes there and as much as I would have loved to eat one….. since they were not vegan I resisted! I am proud of myself cause it was really hard! I brought some vegan chocolate chips to snack on since I figured there would be things I couldn’t eat there 🙂 I was glad I thought to do that!

Started my day today with whole wheat toast and peanut butter and whole fruit jam and I am feeling good! Last night I tried another new recipe called Cheesy Bean and Cheese Enchiladas – it was good! Next time I will put in less onion since 2 medium onions in 13X9 pan is waaaaay too much – Hubby liked the filling but thought the flour tortilla was soggy – my mom wished I would have used whole wheat tortillas but I think next time I will make it with corn tortilla’s – my two year old said it was mmmm good! Anyway here is what it looked like and the recipe:

Cheesy Bean and Cheese Enchiladas

Ingredients (use vegan versions):

1/2 cup flour
1/2 cup nutritional yeast
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon garlic powder
2 cups water
1 teaspoon mustard
4 tablespoons margarine
10 tortillas
2 small cans enchilada sauce
3 cans beans (white kidney, pinto, black), drained
2 medium onions, chopped
1 can olives, chopped
1/4 cup chopped cilantro, 1/2 cup salsa (optional)

Directions:

In medium-large saucepan, combine flour, nutritional yeast, salt and garlic powder.  Add water and mix thoroughly.  Heat on medium heat until bubbling and thick.  Remove from heat and add mustard and margarine.  Set aside 1/2 cup of cheese sauce in separate container.  Add onion, beans, olives, cilantro and salsa to sauce. Mix it up.

Pour a 1/2 cup of enchilada sauce in the bottom of a 9×13 pan. Place a tortilla in pan and cover in enchilada sauce. Spoon in filling. Roll and push to one end of pan.  Continue until all tortillas filled.  Pour the rest of the enchilada sauce on top and then spread reserved cheese sauce on as last step.  Bake at 350 degress Fahrenheit until brown, 30-45 minutes.

Makes: 6 servings, Preparation time: 15 minutes, Cooking time: 30-45 minutes

I also put sliced olives on top which the recipe didn’t call for but I wanted to dress it up a bit 🙂 Anyway my daughter’s first birthday is Sunday so I will be making some yummy vegan cupcakes tomorrow in preparation! I don’t know if anyone actually reads this but if so have a Fabulous Friday! 🙂

Peace and Love and Veggies

Kristin

Leave a Reply

