h1

Oops missed a couple days!

March 1, 2010

The last couple days have been a whirlwind for me – my baby girl turned 1!!!

Friday night I made stuffed shells for dinner which turned out awesome!! We all liked them alot here is the recipe:

Vegan Stuffed Shells

1 container extra-firm tofu
5 tablespoons nutritional yeast
dash of nutmeg
vidalia onion (or other sweet onion), chopped
2 boxes of frozen spinach, or the fresh equivalent
3 cloves garlic, 4 if you like garlic
at least 5 tablespoons of olive oil
1 large jar spaghetti sauce or fresh made
1 box pasta jumbo shells
salt
pepper

Directions:

Place 3/4 of the Tofu in a Food Processor or Blender and add 2 tablespoons of Olive Oil, a pinch of Nutmeg, nutritional yeast, and 1/4 teaspoon of sea salt.  Blend until smooth. Mash the remaining Tofu into the Blended mixture that resembles Ricotta cheese or cottage cheese.  Set aside.

Preheat Oven to 350 degrees.

Sauté the onion in a little Olive Oil till it becomes translucent, but not browned then add the garlic and sauté for just a minute more. If using frozen spinach just defrost the spinach do not cook.  If using fresh spinach steam until the spinach is wilted about 2 minutes in boiling water.  Make sure in both instances to squeeze out all of the excess liquid.  Add the spinach, onion and seasonings to the Ricotta mixture and set aside.  Can be made ahead and refrigerated up to 24 hours.

In a large pot boil the Shells as directed on the package. Drain and rinse under cold water to cool off enough to handle them.  Place enough spaghetti sauce on the bottom of an 8 X 12 baking dish just to cover.  Stuff the shells with the Ricotta mixture.  When you are done stuffing the shells place the rest of the spaghetti sauce over the shells.  Cover with foil and bake for 30 minutes.  Let cool for at least 10 minutes before serving.

Serves: 4 to 5

Preparation time: 60 minutes

The changes I made to this recipe is I used only 1 box of spinach and I added it in the blender with the tofu – also I didnt use any onion I sauted the garlic with some mushrooms that I diced with some olive oil then stirred it in with the crumbled 1/4 block tofu after I was done blending the other ingredients – This was great left overs for lunch on Saturday too!!!

Yesterday was my baby girl’s 1st birthday and I made her the golden vanilla cupcakes from Vegan Cupcakes Take Over The World and a “smash cake”  as well from the same recipe – loooove that book!! Here are some photos from her party


It was a fun and exhausting day! Everyone seemed to like the vegan cupcakes and baby girl LOVED her cake! It was fun to watch her eat it!

I weighed in today since it has been a week since I started the vegan life! I now weigh 179! Back in the 170s woo hoo! Before I know it I will be in the 160s! then the 150s! I am so excited! so 4 pounds lost total since I started! 🙂 Trying to find a recipe for dinner tonight – If anyone has any ideas please post them in my comments! 🙂

Peace and Love and Veggies

Kristin

Leave a Reply

